MONTHLY LEARNING NEWSLETTER

MONTHLY LEARNING NEWSLETTER

 -Past editions-

 

JANUARY 2017  Improving your language skills, Setting achievable goals

FEBRUARY 2017  Innovation in Learning at the UN Secretariat, User-centered design

MARCH 2017 Learning opportunities on Gender Equality, Bridging cultures

APRIL 2017 New online learning opportunities on Diversity, Conflict Resolution, Collaborative Negotiation and Project Management; The Neuroscience of learning

MAY 2017 Setting Performance Objectives, Setting Team and Employee Goals

JUNE 2017 Career Counselling and general Coaching @the UN, Discovering your strengths

JULY 2017  Addressing Unconscious Bias in Recruiting

AUGUST 2017 Filtering out relevant information, Information literacy

SEPTEMBER 2017 Getting ready for your mid-point review with online communications programmes, Delivering employee feedback

OCTOBER 2017 Upholding the UN Charter values, New Strategy on Gender Parity

NOVEMBER 2017 Career Development resources, Taking advantage of Lynda.com

DECEMBER 2017 Engage for Change- The Staff Engagement Survey

JANUARY 2018 Tips and tricks for Outlook, Your feedback 

FEBRUARY 2018 Fostering Multilingualism, Harmonization of Language Learning, Online Language Learning Licenses

-Current editions-

 

 

To view the newsletter in English, click HERE (PDF)

 

FEBRUARY  2018

UN Secretariat Global Learning and Career Support Programmes

Celebrating Mother Language Day and fostering Multilingualism

International Mother Language Day was proclaimed by UNESCO in November 1999 (30C/62)and is observed every year on 21 February since 2000 to promote linguistic and cultural diversity and multilingualism.

Did you know that… ?

- More than 50% of the approximately 7,000 languages spoken in the world are likely to die out within a few generations

- 96% of these languages are spoken by a mere 4% of the world’s population

- Less than 100 languages are used in the digital world.

To learn more about this, visit the Mother Language Day website and stay tuned for upcoming events on the day!

 

Harmonizing language learning across the Secretariat

The Language Programmes at UNHQ, UNOG and UNON are working together to harmonize the learning levels, assessment standards and curriculum offered of the six official languages across the Secretariat.

 In this respect, the creation of a UN Language Framework - unique to the needs of our Organization - will guide the description of four UN Language Competence Levels, common to the six official languages: I-Foundational, II-Intermediate, III-Advanced, and IV-Expert.

 UN Level III-Advanced, will be equivalent to the UN Working Language Proficiency (WLP), which defines the level at which a staff member can perform generic or ordinary work-related duties and activities. The description of WLP may be used to revise the UN LPE and to develop other assessment tools for career development and recruitment processes.

 For further updates, check the Language Learning page on the HR Portal. 

Video of the month: Multilingualism and the UN 

Multilingualism is a founding principle and core value of our Organization. Watch this video to learn more about how it is linked to our mandates and to the work that we do every day.

Watch video

 

GLOBAL OPPORTUNITIES FOR LEARNING AND CAREER SUPPORT IN FEBRUARY

Online Chinese Pronunciation (LMS-2425)
WebEx

Duration: 1h // Durée : 1 h
Weekly sessions on Fridays between 23 Feb and 30 Mar
Séances hebdomadaires tous les vendredis du 23 février au 30 mars 
9:30 am (New York)
3:30 pm (Geneva-Genève)
9:30 pm (Bangkok)

 

 

Unconscious Bias for CBI panel members (LMS-2679)
WebEx

Duration: 1h 30min // Durée : 1 h 30 min
13/14 February // Le 13/14 février
4:30 am (New York) // 10:30 am (Geneva-Genève) // 4:30 pm (Bangkok) or
9:00 am (New York) // 3:00 pm (Geneva-Genève) // 9:00 pm (Bangkok)

This programme is also available in a self-paced format under LMS-2679-10

Look at the offer for each language by clicking below the language you want to learn and consider the list of online courses.

ARABICCHINESEENGLISHFRENCHRUSSIANSPANISH

 

 

Learn languages from anywhere!

To keep fostering the core value of multilingualism through the Organization, and as a supplement to the regular language programmes offer, OHRM has expanded the geographical reach of learning by providing access to Online Learning Language Licenses to staff in Offices Away from Headquarters (OAHs) and those serving in the field who do not have access to face-to-face language courses.

 In 2017, over 1300 licenses have been distributed among staff members in 56 countries. OHRM sponsored a total of 892 of these licenses, whereas DPKO sponsored over 400 of them. The Language Learning Services Unit (LLSU) in OHRM collaborated with Learning Managers and Learning Focal Points to coordinate the distribution, the management and learning support of the different online language courses.

 The next registration period will take place in March 2018. Learning focal points will invite eligible candidates to express their interest in February. 

 

Bonus video: Tomar el Pelo

Learn what idiomatic expressions are used in several different languages to say the same thing.
Here is the winning video of the 2017 Native Language Video Contest. 

 

For questions & more information, contact learning@un.org